PPS Trajectories in Hospice

The Palliative Performance Scale (PPS) uses five observer-rated domains (ambulation, activity level/evidence of disease, self-care, intake, and level of consciousness) to determine the actual survival and median survival time for terminal patients. In a recent blog posting, Christian Sinclair discussed “Patterns of Functional Decline in Hospice Care”, an article published in the Journal of the American Geriatric Society. Three hospices were analyzed using the Suncoast electronic medical record, which looked at almost 9000 hospice patients who died. After analyzing varying PPS scores, three basic directories were noted for cancer and stroke patients (approximately 8 weeks), cardiac and pulmonary patients (approximately 5 weeks), and debility and dementia patients (approximately 2 weeks). For more information about the study, click here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s